2
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Let's say that you're a Sorcerer under the effects of Hold Person, can you cast a spell without a material component with the Subtle Spell metamagic?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Ruse, KorvinStarmast dnd-5e Nov 10 '18 at 23:25

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

19
\$\begingroup\$

No, you cannot cast

The problem is not with movement or speech (ie. performing components), but that hold person subjects you to the paralyzed condition:

A paralyzed creature is incapacitated (see the condition) and can't move or speak. (PHB 290)

An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions. (PHB 290)

The victim is incapable of taking actions and thus cannot cast spells at all. Not even with a bonus action, as:

anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action. (PHB 189)

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.