If a monk gets the tavern brawler feat, does his martial arts damage stack with the 1d4 damage given with tavern brawler?
For example: could a 1st level monk deal 2d4 damage with his unarmed strikes if he had the tavern brawler feat?


1 Answer 1


No, they don't.

From the Monk's Martial Arts feature:

You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon.

From the Tavern Brawler feat (PHB, p. 170):

Your unarmed strike uses a d4 for damage.

Both abilities replace the unarmed strike damage die; they don't add to it. So if you have both abilities, you would still only roll 1d4 (plus Dex or Str mod).

  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ I suggest expanding a bit to point out what happens when the monk's martial arts die changes size. \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Nov 11, 2018 at 5:06
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If they have both abilities, why wouldn't they choose which one to use? \$\endgroup\$
    – briddums
    Feb 2, 2019 at 11:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .