I see the Tarrasque has Legendary Resistance so it can pass failed saving throws. It has a list of Legendary Actions 3 times a day. I keep seeing people say to keep making it do saves to get rid of the Legendary Resistance even though it is not listed under the limited Legendary actions.

Since the Way of the Open Hand monk's Quivering Palm technique relies on failing a Constitution save to instantly reduce the target to 0 HP, can Quivering Palm kill a Tarrasque?

A Monk's Quivering Palm could kill the Tarrasque after it has used all its Legendary Resistances.

The Tarrasque's Legendary Resistance is limited to 3 per day. This limit is listed with the Legendary Resistance Trait, not with the Legendary Actions:

Legendary Resistance (3/Day): If the tarrasque fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.

Once all three uses have been expended, the Tarrasque would be reduced to 0 Hit Points if it failed the saving throw for a Monk's Quivering Palm.

  • 3
    You may want to clarify that the Tarrasque still has to fail the save or it just takes 10d10 necrotic damage. AWith a +10 Constituion modifier, getting a 19 (what the save DC would be with 20 Wisdom and no magic itens) isn't that difficult for the Tarrasque, especially considering he has Magic Resistance so burning through Legendary Resistances will be very difficult. – David Coffron Nov 14 at 21:29
  • 2
    @DavidCoffron is Quivering Palm considered a magical effect? Otherwise Tarrasque doesn't benefit from Magic Resistance trait. – AntiDrondert Nov 15 at 8:09
  • 2
    @AntiDrondert I understood that, but there are not many effects that the Tarrasque would have to succeed against that arent magical making it even more difficult to get rid of the Legendary Resistances before using Quivering Palm – David Coffron Nov 15 at 12:54
  • Therefore, use a team of 4 or more Quivering Palm monks. :) – Kobold_Warlord Nov 15 at 14:44
  • Monk abilities are not considered magical unless they specifically say they are (way of the four elements) so magical resistance would not apply. rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/76005/… – John Nov 15 at 21:29

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.