22
\$\begingroup\$

Can a sorcerer use metamagic when casting a spell via a spell scroll?

\$\endgroup\$
30
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

From scrolls:

If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal Casting Time. If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your Spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully.

So, clearly, you are casting the spell from its scroll.

Reading Metamagic options, you have only 2 conditions:

Almost all options: When you cast a spell ...

Empowered Spell: When you roll damage for a spell...

So yes, you can use your MetaMagic features when casting a spell from a scroll.

JC also backs this up with this tweet (thanks to Slagmoth for finding it):

If a magic item's description says you cast a spell from it, you can use Metamagic on the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ So a Sorcerer 5/ druid 1 could purchase a scroll of awaken and cast it on two creatures or plants? \$\endgroup\$ – Josiah Riggan Nov 15 '18 at 18:58
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @JosiahRiggan I'm not sure what scroll that is, but if Twinned Spell is available, Awakening matches its criteria, and belongs to either Sorcerer or Druid classes, then yes \$\endgroup\$ – BlueMoon93 Nov 15 '18 at 19:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.