4
\$\begingroup\$

The Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica book introduces a magic item called the illusionist's bracers:

While wearing the bracers, whenever you cast a cantrip, you can use a bonus action on the same turn to cast that cantrip a second time.

This seems to me that this allows Warlocks to cast eldritch blast twice per turn.

The Warlock eldritch blast was already one of the strongest cantrips in the game, dealing damage equal to 4d10 + 4*(Charisma modifier) with the Agonizing Blast invocation, and Hex gives an additional d6 per blast (provided the character is at least level 17) - meaning a total of 8d10 + 40 (given a Charisma score of 20) + 8d6 provided it all hits. This would allow a Warlock to have a cantrip deal an average of 108 damage per turn.

If this is correct, would this be unbalancing to warlocks in game provided the item is in the game?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as primarily opinion-based by Thomas Jacobs, Szega, Jason_c_o, Trish, HellSaint Nov 23 '18 at 6:11

Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The question you post here, "Does X make Y unbalanced?" is up for debate. The question "Is my interpretation of how this magic item interacts with this particular spell correct?" is a better question which still provides the answer you are looking for. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Jacobs Nov 22 '18 at 21:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ As another side note, because I can't find the question, someone else posted the math in another "Is EB OP?" question. EB and most(every?) other cantrip damage does fall behind with level. So it may not be more too-powerful than other casters. \$\endgroup\$ – 3C273 Nov 22 '18 at 21:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, what character tier are you calculating this at? I have a feeling that lvl5 calculations and lvl20 calculations are going to be very different. \$\endgroup\$ – 3C273 Nov 22 '18 at 21:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is the 4d10 Eldritch Blast from being 17th level, or something else? \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Nov 22 '18 at 22:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @3C273 Weapon attacks compared with damaging cantrips? \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Nov 22 '18 at 22:07
9
\$\begingroup\$

First of all, this is a very rare item that requires attunement - that puts it in the same category as such ultra-cool stuff as Sword of Sharpness, Rod of Absorption, Dancing Sword, Dwarven Thrower, Oathbow not to mention the uber-cool Staff of Power. Given the choice, and depending on my class (and race), I would rather any of those over the Illusionist's Bracers. I have listed only things that more or less directly enhance your damage dealing ability - there are lots of cool things that do other cooler stuff.

Second, you have made a number of spherical cow assumptions that just don't hold in real D&D combat.

  1. In the first round, you don't have your bonus action available, you are using it to either cast Hex or transfer an ongoing Hex to a new target.
  2. All of your Eldrich Blasts must target the same creature - this limits one of the better features of this cantrip. That creature better not die - otherwise you have just wasted 1/4 to 3/4 of the cantrip's power.
  3. If it does die, you lose your bonus action on your next turn moving the Hex.
  4. Hex is concentration - try not to get hit.
  5. Cantrips do not scale as well as weapons do (Weapon attacks compared with damaging cantrips?) - this just closes the gap.
  6. This is a 17th+ level party - appropriate CR monsters have a lot of hit points and pretty high AC - expect to miss with 1/4 to 1/3 of your blasts.

Also, your maths is wrong - the average of 10(d10+d6+4) is 112.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ While it is true that Deahzgrexofe made a bunch of wrong assumptions, I think that a lot of the problems you have mentioned are irrelevant or exagerated. For example the fact that enemies may have high AC is a problem that all attacks face and does not really affect the strength of Illusionist bracers. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Nov 23 '18 at 2:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Where is caveat #2 sourced from (and by extension #3)? Nothing in the Illusionists Bracers states that it must target the same creature, and Eldritch Blast specifically says you can target multiple with the beams. \$\endgroup\$ – Mwr247 Dec 26 '18 at 17:09
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mwr247 Hex only affects 1 target so your Eldritch Blasts must target that creature to get the effect the OP posits \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Dec 26 '18 at 20:43

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.