Is Rakshasa immune to the booming blade cantrip (SCAG, p. 142)? Does it avoid also the extra damage?

up vote 14 down vote accepted

A Rakshasa is immune to the booming blade cantrip, unless they wish to be affected by it

The relevant trait of the rakshasa is as follows (emphasis mine)

Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can't be affected or detected by spells of 6th level or lower unless it wishes to be. It has advantage on saving throws against all other spells and magical effects. (Monster Manual, p. 257)

As booming blade is a cantrip, and cantrips are spells of sixth level or lower, the rakshasa can only be affected by the booming blade cantrip if it wishes to be, as indicated by the quote and emphasis above.

Yes. A Rakshasa's spell immunity includes cantrips

Rakshasas have the following trait:

Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can't be affected or detected by spells of 6th level or lower unless it wishes to be. (Monster Manual, p. 257)

Cantrips are spell level zero, which is lower than 6.

Cantrips—simple but powerful spells that characters can cast almost by rote—are level 0. (PHB, p. 202)

  • Seth, if you go ahead and select "edit" now, you can see what it looks like, now that the quote blocks have been added. – KorvinStarmast Dec 6 at 19:50

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.