Consider a Wizard 13/Sorcerer 7 multiclass, who happens to have the Twinned Spell metamagic option:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).

To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are.

Now this character casts simulacrum:

  1. Can a Sorcerer use Twinned Spell to create 2 duplicates of himself (or someone else)?

  2. Can a Sorcerer use Twinned Spell to create 1 duplicate for 2 different targets at the same time?

  • \$\begingroup\$ This question is VERY related to this one. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:31
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @BlueMoon93 Agree, theoretical application of Twinned Spell to Simulacrum is possible with Wiz-13/Sorc-7 multiclass, no Wish is needed. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I edited the question to focus on the Twinned/Simulacrum aspect \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since the MC option and the wish option are two very different questions and the latter already has an answer elsewhere I have edited this to only focus on the MC. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes it does, although I'm probably more concerned about that matter about Twinned Wish now, But this is of course for another question. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 17:54

3 Answers 3


Yes, Simulacrum can be twinned

It creates one duplicate each of two creatures.

Just to take the first line of the Simulacrum spell:

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell.

The target is one beast or humanoid within range touch.

There's nothing logically stopping this from working. Simulacrum doesn't target self or more than one creature.

And to pull out a line of the Twinned Spell feature:

[snip] ... target a second creature in range ... [snip]

If you had two people (one of which could be yourself) within the range of "touch" for 12 hours and you have the sorcery points (you'll need seven), then you should be able to twin the spell and create two duplicates: one of each creature.

Also as a restriction of Twinned Spell, a twinned simulacrum can not be used to create two duplicates of the same creature.

So, to answer your questions succinctly:

  1. No, a twinned simulacrum must target different creatures.
  2. Yes.
  • \$\begingroup\$ I know this is old, but are you sure? I was just on Sage advice and found someone asking about creating two simulacrums. Jeremy Crawford simply pointed out to the last line of the spell that says you can only have one. Wouldn't that mean that, while Simulacrum does fit the Twinned Spell requirements, it would be useless as only one of the snow clones would actually be able to exist? sageadvice.eu/2017/03/13/… \$\endgroup\$
    – Victor B
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 12:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ @VictorB: The final sentence doesn't say you can only have one. It says "If you cast this spell again, any duplicate you created with this spell is instantly destroyed." With Twinned Spell, you're only casting it once to produce both simulacra, so that condition doesn't come into play. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 8 at 10:59

You can twin Simulacrum, and create a duplicate of a target, and a duplicate of a second target.

Simulacrum falls under Twinned Spell requirements, and now targets 2 creatures. It's the same as if you had cast Simulacrum twice, with different targets, except the first duplicate does not disappear.


Probably not for the twin Simulacrum

Simulacrum isn't a creature until after the spell takes effect.

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from ice or snow, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature. (SRD, p. 180)

What the sorcerer is casting the spell on is a bunch of objects, not a creature, that become a creature.

(snow or ice in quantities sufficient to made a life-­‐‑size copy of the duplicated creature; some hair, fingernail clippings, or other piece of that creature’s body placed inside the snow or ice; and powdered ruby worth 1,500 gp, sprinkled over the duplicate and consumed by the spell) (SRD p. 180)

Twin needs to be cast on a creature, specifically, per the rules you cited. With that in mind ...

Maybe you can (what is being touched?)

With a range of touch, it is unclear whether or not that which is to be duplicated must be touched or not. If yes, then provided that sufficient material is present, then the sorcerer is "touching" a creature and thus makes two duplicates of that creature. (thanks to @AlexMillette for that point)

I can see the ruling going either way, so discuss with your DM. The issue to resolve is "what it is that the caster is touching in order to create the simulacrum? The pile of material, or the creature to be duplicated?"

As an aside, regarding "touching" for touch spells and abilities, how the touch is to be executed isn't precisely defined. (A JCrawford tweet).

  • \$\begingroup\$ "You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell." This seems to imply that the "Touch" range refers to the targeted original, which is certainly a creature. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see his point, although I highly doubt it was intended in this way. The range is "touch" and the creature to be duplicated has to stay within that range for the duration of the cast. This begs the question as to how do you craft a snowman while groping your victim? I think it is another example of horrible wording, or trying to copy a previous version. \$\endgroup\$
    – Slagmoth
    Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AlexMillette Interesting point, so I folded that in. Good catch. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ I get a feeling these should be two separate answers... whether the components or the original creature should be considered the target completely changes which answer you get. \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 14:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Erik I appreciate your point, but I find more appealing the 5e approach of ruling over rules when the text doesn't specify; \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 10, 2018 at 15:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .