2
\$\begingroup\$

I have a fighter with Two-Weapon Fighting. In a Full Attack Action, I make a successful Trip attempt with my first attack and a successful Disarm attempt with the second Attack.

The foe is now prone and disarmed. Does he need to use a move action to pick up the weapon, provoking an Attack of Opportunity, or is it a free action because the weapon is next to him?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Picking up an item is neither faster nor easier because a creature's prone

A prone creature doesn't pick up an item in less time than a standing creature, and a prone creature still provokes an attack of opportunity from each foe that threatens the creature when it attempts to pick up an item.

Despite the weapon being right there on the ground and in the prone creature's space, if the creature has been the victim of the combat maneuver disarm, then the typical creature must take a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity to pick up the weapon. (Also see the Table: Actions in Combat and its short accompanying FAQ entry.)


Note: The fighter in question has picked here the right order in which to execute these maneuvers: If the fighter's trip combat maneuver succeeds and renders the foe prone, when the fighter makes the disarm attempt against the prone foe, Combat Modifiers has the foe suffer a −4 penalty to his Combat Maneuver Defense score as "[a]ny penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD.")

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes im aware of the -4, that's why i want to do it in that order, first trip then disarm. \$\endgroup\$ – Martin Chocho Dec 10 '18 at 21:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Wyrmwood i've missread your comment haha. I want it in that order because the defender has -4 cmd, not the disarm attempt \$\endgroup\$ – Martin Chocho Dec 10 '18 at 21:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah. I read it wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – Wyrmwood Dec 10 '18 at 22:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ Speaking of action orders, it could also be pointed out that an enemy could instead stand (still provoking unless it has Kip Up or a similar ability), 5 foot step, and pick up their weapon (which would provoke from their new location, not where the item was dropped). Assuming, of course, that they are willing to give up their Standard Action attack at -4. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 11 '18 at 4:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.