2
\$\begingroup\$

Killing Blow with a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon: When the swashbuckler reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points with a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon attack while in combat, she regains 1 panache point. Destroying an unattended object, reducing a helpless or unaware creature to 0 or fewer hit points, or reducing a creature that has fewer Hit Dice than half the swashbuckler’s character level to 0 or fewer hit points doesn’t restore any panache.

Does a level 3 Swashbuckler gain Panache from killing a 1-HD creature? Obviously 1 is less than half of 3, but also you should "round down" in Pathfinder.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

That swashbuckler regains panache for that enemy's defeat

Half of a level 3 swashbuckler's character level rounds down to 1. Because 1 Hit Die is effectively equal to half that swashbuckler's character level (rather than 1 Hit Die being fewer than that swashbuckler's character level), that swashbuckler does gain panache for reducing a 1 Hit Die creature's hp to 0 or fewer.

Keep in mind that regaining panache this way is based on the creature's total character levels rather than exclusively on the creature's swashbuckler levels. A barbarian 10/swashbuckler 3, for example, would need to reduce to 0 hp a foe possessing at least 6 Hit Dice to regain panache this way and not just stab down to 0 hp a comparatively nonthreatening 1 Hit Die creature!

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.