4
\$\begingroup\$

Super cool warblade fighting a vampire. Alas, he has no silver weapons. Can I hold a silver coin in my fingers and rake at him or in between my knuckles and punch at him?

I saw a similar 5e answer but nothing for 3.5

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

The warblade's attacks with that silver coin will bypass the vampire's damage reduction if the DM rules that a lone silver coin can be used as an improvised weapon.

Complete Warrior expands the rules for improvised weapons, and it says that any improvised weapon weighing less than 2 lbs. deals 1d3 points of damage. Nonetheless, this player wouldn't be surprised by a DM ruling that an item weighing 1/50 lb.—like a silver piece—deals less than 1d3 points of damage.

Note that while the name of the special material alchemical silver (Dungeon Master's Guide 284—5) seems to imply that it's somehow different from normal silver, it's really the process of binding the silver to the weapon that gives the material the adjective alchemical; the silver itself remains just silver.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.