1
\$\begingroup\$

In Adventurers League, does Magic Initiate let you take a spell that is not in your PHB+1? We know that "Feats and spells gained by advancement are subject to PHB+1", but in this case Magic Initiate is part of the PHB+1 and that in general is possible obtain spell out the PHB+ if out the advancement in level (see wizards)

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ How can you get a spell outside of PHB+1 by circumventing advancement? \$\endgroup\$ – Honore Shadeshield Dec 19 '18 at 15:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: Do I have to count a book as my single DDAL-legal additional source to use a spell from it? \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Dec 19 '18 at 16:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HonoreShadeshield I think the related question I linked answers your question \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Dec 19 '18 at 16:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I feel like a few words were accidentally omitted here: "that in general is possible obtain spell out the PHB+ if out the advancement in level (see wizards)"... It's not clear what exactly you're saying there. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 20 '18 at 1:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ There is nothing "general" about the way wizards learn/know spells - they're probably the most significant deviation from how other classes handle it. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Dec 20 '18 at 13:39
12
\$\begingroup\$

Magic Initiate is subject to PHB+1.

You've already quoted the relevant bit of rules text. Magic Initiate is a feat and feats are gained by advancement. It is therefore subject to PHB+1.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.