9
\$\begingroup\$

The Ninja Trick "Pressure Points" states:

Pressure Points (Su): A ninja with this trick can strike at an opponent’s vital pressure points, causing weakness and intense pain. Whenever the ninja deals sneak attack damage, she also deals 1 point of Strength or Dexterity damage, decided by the ninja. Unlike normal ability damage, this damage can be healed by a DC 15 Heal check. Each successful check heals 1 point of damage caused by this trick. A ninja with this trick receives a +10 insight bonus on this Heal check.

Based on the wording, it seems that the ability damage would stack, however that seems entirely too powerful to me. Is there a clear ruling that states whether or not this is a stacking, or non-stacking, damage?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ In our experience this ability is more of a minor debuff than anything overpowered. It'd take ~10 rounds before it became a significant issue for typical enemies, and typical enemies don't last that long anyway. \$\endgroup\$
    – ladenedge
    Apr 28, 2012 at 18:32

1 Answer 1

8
\$\begingroup\$

Of course it stacks. Damage always stacks. Note under Bleeding Attack it clarifies that the bleed doesn't stack with itself - no such wording in Pressure Points. And "Each check heals 1 point of damage..." pretty much cinches it (if you couldn't take multiple points of damage, that wouldn't be necessary to say). A DC 15 Heal check to remove the damage is a pretty easy mitigation. And the ninja is the one outstanding case where the Paizo folks chucked balance out the window, so yes, all the abilities are pretty good.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .