Assuming you have the Sentinel feat, can you choose to not reduce an opponent's speed to zero when you hit them with an opportunity attack?


No; the speed reduction is not optional (assuming you hit)

The first benefit of the Sentinel feat (PHB, p. 169-170) says:

When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature's speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.

It doesn't say you "can" reduce its speed to 0; it's simply stated as fact that if you hit with an opportunity attack, the target's speed becomes 0 - no exceptions.

So as it's worded, the speed reduction is mandatory if you hit with an opportunity attack.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't think you can even not use the feat. This might be good for another question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mindwin
    Dec 27 '18 at 11:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mindwin: What do you mean? \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Dec 27 '18 at 18:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ if you have the sentinel feat, you set to zero the speed of any creature you hit with an AoO whether you want it or not. Just like a barbarian with heavy armor master would shove out 3 damage from a goblin's poker even if he wanted to take more damage (for whatever reason). I don't think you can opt to not use the feat's benefits once you have them. But as I said, this is for another question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mindwin
    Dec 28 '18 at 11:05
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mindwin: I mean... That's exactly what this question is asking, and my answer states exactly what you've said in your comment. So it's not really "for another question" - that's exactly what this question and answer are about :P \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Dec 29 '18 at 0:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast While it's true that's a valid interpretation of what this question is about, this answer does not really address that topic at all. Your answer assumes that feats are always on to make the statements it makes about the bullet point in the sentinel feat, but it doesn't support that assertion. Nevertheless, your answer answers another reading of the question as asking about the particulars of that sentinel feat bullet point just fine, so it is a good answer to this question and it might be better to answer the broader question of whether you can not-use feats separately / elsewhere \$\endgroup\$ Dec 29 '18 at 1:00

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .