5
\$\begingroup\$

I'm currently building a Mastigos mage and I wanted to get a good grasp on how the Mage Armor attainments work.

The Mind and Space Mage Armors both say (on page 194) to add the Arcanum's dot rating to your Defense (so, with Mind 3 and Space 2, I'd get +3 and +2 Defense, respectively). In Space Armor's description, it also mentions that you add your Space to your dice pool when Dodging while Mind does not, even though Mind also addresses Dodging.

My point of confusion is whether the bonus to Defense from Mage Armor is used when doubling Defense for your Dodge dice pool.

I would imagine so, due to Mage Armor adding to your Defense score before it's doubled, which would mean that Space armor adds your Arcanum bonus to Dodge rolls three times (+X bonus to Defense, multiplied by two, +X to Dodge), which is quite helpful. If not, then that makes the Mind Arcanum's Mana-expenditure ability riskier.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You mean by activating both attainments at the same time? Misperception (Mind Mage armor) nwod.org/wiki/index.php/Misperception and Untouchable (Space Mage armor) nwod.org/wiki/index.php/Untouchable \$\endgroup\$ – Txangel Jan 12 '19 at 12:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ No. In 2E, you can only have one type of mage armor active at a time, for starters. Additionally, these spells are completely different from the attainments in 2E, which aren't spells at all. Both of these 2E armors add to Defense, not actual armor. Mind makes the enemy hesitate and not want to fight. Space warps reality slightly to redirect attacks and allows you to apply Defense against firearms and even redirect them into other enemies (2E rulebook, p. 194 for both). I'm asking if the Mage Armor bonus to Defense is doubled when making a Dodge action in combat. \$\endgroup\$ – Wormwood Jan 13 '19 at 15:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.