5
\$\begingroup\$

The only rule regarding this that I've managed to find is (PHB p190):

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.

If a PC has two weapons (dual wield), does he draw one or both?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I felt like the questions are related to the same rule. \$\endgroup\$ – Alex Parvan Dec 29 '18 at 10:51
  • 5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related to your shield, which is a separate question to this one. Suggest you go back and read the bit about armor to understand your concern about the shield, versus the weapon. PHB p 144 and p 146. Then edit out your question about the shield (which is separate from your weapon question) and then if need be ask that as a separate question once you have reviewed the armor/shield material. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Dec 29 '18 at 15:20
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ There can be many questions about the same rule, but we can only have one question per post. You’re welcome to submit multiple separate question posts when you have multiple questions about one rule. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Dec 29 '18 at 22:05
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Since your 1st and 4th questions already exist and have answers in our database, I removed them from this post. (This is one reason why we insist on one question per post: sometimes, it has already been asked, and we must avoid creating duplicates.) Since there were only two questions remaining, I removed the one about whether you start combat with a shield equipped, leaving one question. A new title, and the hold has been removed. If you would like to ask about shields, you may post a second question. Cheers! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Dec 29 '18 at 23:35
12
\$\begingroup\$

You can only draw one weapon

The rules state:

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.

When you choose to attack, you can draw a single weapon as part of that same action. Note how the rules specifically says "one object" and "your weapon". Also the sentence directly following this passage makes this more explicit:

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.

Drawing one weapon is one interaction with one object. Trying to draw the second weapon would be a second interaction with a second object and thus it would require an action to perform.

There is a feat that will let you do this though

The Dual Wielder feat (PHB, p. 165) has a few benefits, one of which is:

You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

If you had this feat, you would then be able to draw both of your weapons as part of a single Attack action.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

You can only interact with a single object for free on your turn. This means you can only draw a single weapon for free (unless you have the Dual Wielder feat) and drawing and sheathing 2 different weapons count as interactions with 2 objects.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I have removed the parts of your answer having to do with the past revision. There is no need to mark edits and no need to keep parts of an answer referring to parts of the question that are no longer there. Without that part of the question the vestigial part of your answer was confusing and not useful. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Dec 30 '18 at 15:28

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.