5
\$\begingroup\$

My level 2 party of 5 killed

Lennithon in the first encounter

in Greenest. What do I do?

I have thought about just running it normally but that won't work, because they each got 3,000xp making them level 4. This majorly upsets the balance of the game.

Also am I supposed to just scrap the later encounters? I checked the rules so many times I lost count and I still couldn't find what I did wrong. I was thinking maybe since I have an artificer in my party and I havent really read up on it that much that I overlooked a class feature that they didn't really understand which resulted in some extra damage dealing. It could have been the two guiding bolts critting making a total of 16 d6. Also it could have been that I have three spellcasters that are all focused on damage dealing plus a barbarian and a rogue.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 24
    \$\begingroup\$ I'll be really interested to hear, if this is reopened, how 5 L2 adventurers took down an adult dragon that never gets within 25' of them and flies away once it's taken 24+ damage. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jan 3 '19 at 0:08
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To help make the question more precise, are you looking for more advice on how to rebalance the mecanical side of the game? Or how to rework a premade adventure once a major derailment like yours happened? \$\endgroup\$ – 3C273 Jan 4 '19 at 3:21
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Agreed. If they killed the dragon at level 2, a pretty much impossible feat, then something is going wrong to where the usual advice about bumping up lesser enemies to account for the additional levels won’t be helpful - apparently levels and CR aren’t working they way they are supposed to in your game. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk - SE stop being evil Jan 4 '19 at 13:14
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ I feel like this should be closed until we can get more information. as @nitsua60 said, the creature should have left at 24-ish damage. and adult blue dragons have 225 hp. Even if every member crit hit their attacks and they were heavy hitting spells like chromatic orb, that's still a theoretical maximum of 240, if all 30 dice are max-roll. (just to prove a point of silliness) \$\endgroup\$ – goodguy5 Jan 4 '19 at 15:13
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @user51131 I know we're getting pretty tangential to your original question, but if you can give a play by play as best you can recall for how that fight went down, it might help us work out where it went wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Jan 5 '19 at 11:00