0
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Are magical items such as:

Staff of Frost DMG page 202

Staff of Power DMG page 202

Wand of Fireballs DMG page 210

Wand of the War Mage +1 DMG page 212

Considered to be foci usable for spellcasting, such as:

Staff PHB, page 151

Wand PHB, page 151

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Carcer, Purple Monkey dnd-5e Jan 4 at 22:56

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

-2
\$\begingroup\$

No

A spellcasting focus is an object created to be a spellcasting focus. A magic staff or wand isn’t one unless it says it is just as a mundane quarter staff or wand shaped stick isn’t one.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note: sageadvice.eu/2017/02/09/… \$\endgroup\$ – Davo Jan 4 at 23:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also note that Jeremy Crawford's rulings are considered "official" \$\endgroup\$ – L0neGamer Jan 4 at 23:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ so, is a yes or a no? \$\endgroup\$ – Foffos Jan 4 at 23:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @L0neGamer worth noting that "official" in this case doesn't really mean anything much to us. See this answer for more. Crawford writes rulings not rules and his rulings are completely optional. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 5 at 4:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @foffos basically it's a "your DM has to decide". J.C. says yes, but your DM can rule differently and it's not "wrong". \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Jan 5 at 5:46

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.