Are magical items such as:

Staff of Frost DMG page 202

Staff of Power DMG page 202

Wand of Fireballs DMG page 210

Wand of the War Mage +1 DMG page 212

Considered to be foci usable for spellcasting, such as:

Staff PHB, page 151

Wand PHB, page 151



A spellcasting focus is an object created to be a spellcasting focus. A magic staff or wand isn’t one unless it says it is just as a mundane quarter staff or wand shaped stick isn’t one.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note: sageadvice.eu/2017/02/09/… \$\endgroup\$
    – Davo
    Jan 4 '19 at 23:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also note that Jeremy Crawford's rulings are considered "official" \$\endgroup\$
    – L0neGamer
    Jan 4 '19 at 23:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ so, is a yes or a no? \$\endgroup\$
    – Foffos
    Jan 4 '19 at 23:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @L0neGamer worth noting that "official" in this case doesn't really mean anything much to us. See this answer for more. Crawford writes rulings not rules and his rulings are completely optional. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rubiksmoose
    Jan 5 '19 at 4:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @foffos basically it's a "your DM has to decide". J.C. says yes, but your DM can rule differently and it's not "wrong". \$\endgroup\$ Jan 5 '19 at 5:46

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.