4
\$\begingroup\$

While the spell is in effect, the subject can beckon a creature it can see clearly, forcing it to approach unless the creature succeeds on a Will save against the spell's save DC.

What kind of action do I need to spend on this beckoning? I cannot find it anywhere in the spell description.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

I would say it takes a standard action.

From "Actions in combat",

A standard action allows you to do something, most commonly make an attack or cast a spell.

Consider this: you are turning your attention to a creature and forcing it to approach. This should require some amount of effort. Since it is a spell effect, it's safe to assume it would require a comparable amount of effort as would concentrating on an active spell take, and concentrating on a spell is a standard action.

Approaching from another perspecitve, any unusual type of action is normally spelled out in description ("as a free action, you can..."). If it doesn't and you need to "do something", it would default to a standard action instead.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.