7
\$\begingroup\$

I look for information that I have not found in the PHB or in the DMG. With what level are the spells of a scroll cast?

Example: a level 20 wizard with a scroll of Magic Missile. At what level does he cast the spell on the scroll?

In what section or page does the rule that explains it appear?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hello! Am I correct in assuming you have a non-English copy of the Dungeon Master's Guide? \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Jan 10 at 12:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think the intent of the comment asking the above question is that if you are using a non-english copy the page numbers would be different and that would be helpful information. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 10 at 13:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Near duplicate of Can a spell scroll be upcast using a higher-level spell slot?. Answers on that question answer this one. \$\endgroup\$ – Peter Cordes Jan 10 at 16:31
11
\$\begingroup\$

Spells cast from magic items are cast at their lowest level

Whenever a magic item allows you to cast a spell, unless it specifically says otherwise, it's cast at its lowest level. This is explained in the Dungeon Master's Guide, in the chapter Magic items, in the sub-section Activating an Item:

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components.

(emphasis mine)

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

You cast the spell at its lowest level.

Scrolls are defined by the spell they contain. If they contain a 1st-level spell (like Magic Missile), then they are a Spell Scroll (level 1).

From the DMG (page 141) or online:

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.

You can also find info on Scrolls on DMG (page 139), or more specifically on DMG (page 200). On-line resources are here:

If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. [...] The level of the spell on the scroll determines the spell’s saving throw DC and Attack bonus, as well as the scroll’s rarity, as shown in the Spell Scroll table.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.