13
\$\begingroup\$

I know that, by default, magic items cast spells of the lowest level possible for that spell.

However, is there any specific way by the rules to have a scroll that casts a spell at a higher level than that spell appears in a spell list? For example, can I ever have a scroll that casts magic missile (a 1st level spell) at 2nd level?

Note: I am not asking if you can take a normal 1st level scroll of magic missile and cast it at a higher level as in this question. I am asking if 2nd level scrolls of magic missile can be made/exist at all - a related but different question.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

If the description says it does, then it can. Otherwise, the lowest level is assumed.

General rule for casting spells from magic items:

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise.

Scroll Levels

Spell scrolls are not explicitly stated to always be at the lowest possible level for the spell. That is the default for magic items. So a "scroll of magic missile" would be a level 1 scroll and follow the table for casting an L1 scroll. However, a "scroll of magic missile level two" would be a level two spell scroll. It still fits with the general description of spell scrolls, and with magic items since the description states the spell level.

Scribing

Xanathar's Guide to Everything offers guidance on the cost and nature of scribing spell scrolls. It has a table relating the level of the spell to the cost of it and the requirements on the scribe.

Following the table, scribing a 2nd level magic missile scroll would take the cost from 25gp to 250gp and doubles the required time to complete the task.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if specified on the scroll

Following Sage Advice (quoted below) it's possible to come across scrolls with specified levels for the inscribed spell.

@newbiedm would a 5e spell scroll point out at what level the spell is cast, for those spells that can be cast using higher spell slots? #dnd

@JeremyECrawford The spell on a spell scroll is at the spell's lowest level, unless a particular scroll says otherwise

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.