16
\$\begingroup\$

I know this looks very similar to this question, but I asked it to indirectly solve what I'm about to ask now (a bad idea).


The Aegis of the Raven Queen (from the module "CCC-BWM-03 A Tale of Two Towers") is a special shield, which does not exist in D&D 5e by default but does exist in Adventurers League play. It has the following passive property:

While holding this shield, nonmagical flames are extinguished within 30 feet of you as the shadow lashes out at the flame.

I also know that breath weapons are considered nonmagical.

What happens when a dragon breathes fire on a creature wielding this special shield?

  1. The breath gets extinguished (and thus doesn't affect the Aegis-wielding creature)
  2. The breath weapon works as normal, since it doesn't really emit "flames" in game terms (and thus the Aegis-wielding creature is forced to make the Dexterity saving throw as normal)
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't see why you wouldn't be allowed to. Through googling "Aegis of the Raven Queen", I found it listed in this log as being from "CCC-BWM-03 A Tale of Two Towers". The item and its description are shown in the full-size preview. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 16 at 21:20
22
\$\begingroup\$

The dragon's breath is extinguished

A fire-breathing dragon breathes actual fire

If you look at red dragons' breath weapon ability - for instance, a red dragon wyrmling's Fire Breath action - it says:

The dragon exhales fire in a 15-foot cone.

Fire and flame are synonymous, thus if you had some sort of effect that continuously extinguished flame, a dragon's fire breath would also be extinguished.

A dragon's breath is nonmagical

According to the Sage Advice Compendium, which has this to say under "Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?":

Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature:

  • Is it a magic item?
  • Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description?
  • Is it a spell attack?
  • Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
  • Does its description say it’s magical?

If your answer to any of those questions is yes, the feature is magical.

Since a dragon's breath weapon meets none of the guidelines, it is not magical.

Thus, since the breath weapon creates a nonmagical flame, there is no reason why this item would not extinguish it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is definitely pleasing to read. I don't think it will come up in actual play (fire-breathing dragons are rather scarce to encounter, I think), but nice nonetheless. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Jan 16 at 21:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GaelL dragonborn can breathe fire too, along with hell hound and other creatures. \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Jan 17 at 7:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.