16
\$\begingroup\$

The Savage Attacker feat (PHB, p. 169) states that you can reroll a melee weapon's damage dice "once per turn".

If I used Savage Attacker on my turn, and then I get an opportunity attack when an enemy moves away from me, can I also use the Savage Attacker feat to reroll my damage on the enemy's turn?

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can use it again on someone else's turn

As you note, Savage Attacker can be used to reroll damage "once per turn". In a given round, each creature gets a different turn (PHB p. 189, "The Order of Combat"):

The game organizes the chaos of combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn.

Provided the creature is moving on its own turn (not on your turn), you can use this feature again even if you used it during your turn.

This is a very similar reasoning to the rogue using Sneak Attack outside their turn, as it uses similar wording.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that this is definitely on purpose, not an accident. The prior version of D&D (4e) had things like rogue sneak attack be once/round, and they later explicitly changed it to once/turn as they felt "being able to be nasty on an opportunity attack" made sense. This lesson carried forward to 5e. \$\endgroup\$ – Yakk Jan 17 at 14:20
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes you can

Since the Feat allows you to reroll the damage once per turn, you can indeed use it for Opportunity attacks and other attacks multiple times during a round, up to once per turn. You understood the rule correctly.

An interesting consequence is that characters who have access to the Fighter's Action Surge class feature can use it to get a second action, use that action to Ready an Attack action in a manner that triggers quickly after their turn, and get more damage out of their second action this way.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that you can't use Extra Attack when readying, so this move is going to be useful for only a very short amount of time. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Jan 17 at 12:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Erik Not necessarily, the Action surge might be from a multiclass dip from a main class that doesn't have Extra attack. I could see this having a potentially workable synergy with Sneak Attack. \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Jan 17 at 13:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.