9
\$\begingroup\$

The Staff of the Magi allows you to absorb spells cast at you to replenish its charges.

Considering that the description doesn't say that it has to be cast by a hostile person, is it possible for, say, a mage in your group to just throw a bunch of high-level spells to charge the Staff almost to full?

It would be just before the group is about to take a long rest, in case the Staff of the Magi has pretty much exhausted everything in the last big fight.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to Rpg.SE! Please take a look at the tour, it's a useful introduction to the site. \$\endgroup\$ – Luris Jan 18 at 7:19
10
\$\begingroup\$

That seems to work.

As you pointed out, the Staff does not say anything about the caster being hostile:

In addition, you can use your reaction when another creature casts a spell that targets only you.

So it should work as a storage for all your friends' unused spell slots.

But beware!

However, if doing so brings the staff's total number of charges above 50, the staff explodes as if you activated its retributive strike.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't think the "your own spells" sentence is supported by the quote you provide. It explicitly states "when another creature casts a spell", and I can't think of a meaning for "another creature" other than "a creature which is not you". \$\endgroup\$ – Kamil Drakari Jan 18 at 15:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KamilDrakari You are absolutely right, I don't know how I missed that \$\endgroup\$ – J.E Jan 19 at 21:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.