2
\$\begingroup\$

One of my players is playing a Blood Hunter from the D&D beyond site. He wants to have his character be the Ghost Hunter based subclass and have his backstory be that he grew up in a ghost hunting family/group, who all worshiped or looked to one or two gods. What mechanically is allowed to be a holy symbol?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure I understand your most recent edit. Blood Hunters don't use Holy Symbols (like a cleric does). WHat is the relevance of Holy Symbols to this class and your question? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jan 22 at 14:24
9
\$\begingroup\$

The rules text on holy symbols is pretty brief:

A holy symbol is a representation of a god or pantheon. A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield.

There are a few different options listed in the rules - amulet, emblem, and reliquary - but they only differ in weight (1, 0, and 2 pounds respectively). They all have the same cost. Exactly what they are (beyond the regular English definition of the words) is not defined - it could be steel, gold, stone, etc. As long as it's worth 5 GP and has the appropriate symbology, it's a holy symbol.

The nature of a holy symbol is not a matter for the rules, because there are no mechanics behind it. Even within the same church, followers of a given deity may use different holy symbols. The themes and design of the symbols follow a pattern (in the Realms, Kelemvor uses a scale) but the exact construction varies.

In fact, the price is only an issue for buying something that qualifies for the game mechanical use of a holy symbol, which is only relevant to Clerics and Paladins. For a lay worshipper, a token of bone or wood with the right markings may just be good enough.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I think it's worth noting that whether the object is a "real holy symbol" could be relevant if the player chooses to multiclass to a relevant class later. They would probably become slightly miffed if the thing they were calling a "holy symbol" previously suddenly doesn't qualify. \$\endgroup\$ – Kamil Drakari Jan 22 at 20:22
4
\$\begingroup\$

Without a mechanical requirement, there is no limitation

The Blood Hunter class does not use a Holy Symbol, so there is no mechanical requirement that needs to be resolved here.

Because of that, you are only limited by what your DM decides is a holy symbol in their world. You'll need to ask your DM, or if you're the DM, you'll need to do a bit of world building.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.