4
\$\begingroup\$

If a character uses a Ring of the Ram to make an attack, do external modifiers affect the roll? For example, if the character was under the effect of a Bless spell, would they apply that to the roll to hit since the spectral ram's head makes the attack, and not the character?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Bless can't help the Ring of the Ram

The item description says:

The ring produces a spectral ram's head and makes its attack roll with a +7 bonus.

The ring is doing the attack and it has a +7 bonus, that is a flat bonus and what you should roll. Compare this item to the Dancing Sword which says:

The sword uses your attack roll and ability score modifier to damage rolls.

If Ring of the Ram was intended to work this way it would contain this text. It doesn't and can't benefit from bless or your other abilities.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Bless can affect attacks made with Ring of the Ram.

The description for Ring of the Ram includes (emphasis mine):

While wearing the ring, you can use an action to expend 1 to 3 of its charges to attack one creature you can see within 60 feet of you.

YOU are the one making the attack, you are just using the ring to do it. It's the same concept as using a sword, but in this case the ring is the weapon. The bit in the item description about the ram's head is describing how the attack manifests, and doesn't actually mean the ring makes the attack.

And, since Bless says (emphasis mine):

Whenever a target makes an attack roll or a saving throw before the spell ends...

It appears that Bless would indeed affect this particular attack roll.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The item description does say "The ring produces a spectral ram's head and makes its Attack roll with a +7 bonus" which to me implies the spectral ram's head is making the attack, not you. On top of that, if you are making the attack it would quality as a ranged attack which means you could get disadvantage on the attack if you have an adjacent enemy. \$\endgroup\$ – Allan Mills Jan 23 at 22:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AllanMills it IS a ranged attack with a range of 60 ft, per the item description: "use an action... to attack one creature you can see within 60 feet of you." The ring is what grants you the ability, and it grants you a +7 bonus to a flat roll when using that ability, but it does not make the attack itself. If the item made its own attack, it would specify that it does so. If this had its own attack, it would have to roll initiative in combat and would have rules explaining such, otherwise you effectively gain a free action on your turn, and that's a HUGE advantage in terms of action economy. \$\endgroup\$ – G. Moylan Jan 23 at 22:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ If it was a ranged attack it would say it was a ranged attack like every other spell and item in the game which can do so. It wouldn't necessarily need to roll initiative - dancing swords can attack distant targets and they don't need to roll initiative. \$\endgroup\$ – Allan Mills Jan 23 at 22:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @G.Moylan The item says "The ring produces a spectral ram's head and makes its attack roll with a +7 bonus." It doesn't say "make a ranged attack roll." You are not making the attack, the ring is. \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Jan 23 at 23:44

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.