3
\$\begingroup\$

Our DM was saying that an Arcane Trickster Rogue casting a Firebolt does not get the sneak attack damage on a hit. Is that right?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That question is from the playtest, so it's not really a duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jan 25 at 4:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Miniman so I closed this before seeing your comment. If that question is from the playtest it sold be retagged. And I'm not 100% sure it matters if it is. Certainly the top and accepted answer is not from the playtest so I think it should be good regardless. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 25 at 5:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, there are a number of improperly tagged questions from the playtest that never got fixed so there are a mix of playtest answers and official 5e answers. I'm unsure how we deal with those... \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 25 at 5:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast might be worth a meta honestly. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 25 at 5:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose: Someone else can ask it, or I can do it some other time. Right now I have to sleep so I can be awake for a work call in 5 and a half hours... \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 25 at 5:32
7
\$\begingroup\$

Spells cannot be used for sneak attacks....

... unless the spell involves making a weapon attack as part of its action, such as Greenflame-Blade and Booming Blade, in which case, you can apply sneak damage.

Sneak Attack (PHB Pg. 96)

Once per turn, you can deal extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the spell includes a weapon attack, it can be used for sneak attacks (assuming the weapon used is light or finesse). \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Jan 25 at 5:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, I over-looked that. I'll edit my answer. \$\endgroup\$ – He Who Rules As Intended Jan 25 at 5:29
2
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for sneak attack state:

The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

A spell is not a finesse weapon, nor is it a ranged weapon, so no sneak attack damage can be applied from casting it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Some spells specify that they are a finesse weapons, such as Shadow Blade (dnd-spells.com/spell/shadow-blade). My interpretation is that these spells could qualify for sneak attack. \$\endgroup\$ – joe.liedtke Oct 20 at 18:54

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.