As this answer to another question points out, the MM errata replaces resistance/immunity to "non-magical weapons" with resistance/immunity to "non-magical attacks".

Does this mean that a werewolf can't be burnt or drowned?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ There’s an unexplained link in your post. Could you edit to indicate what its purpose here is? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 20:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ and kids, this is the reason you should not post when you are ill. Please delete this. \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 20:55
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @András I know this isn't what comments are for, and this will probably get deleted quickly, but sorry to hear that you're ill. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 23:22

1 Answer 1


The Werewolf would still die

Werewolves aren't immune to all non-magical attacks, they are immune to "slashing, piercing, and bludgeoning damage from non-magical attacks" (emphasis mine).

Being burned at the stake would deal fire damage, and fire is still quite effective. Suffocation does not rely on dealing HP damage to kill in the first place.

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Fall damages by passes resistances, in the tomb of annihilation it states that a certain weretiger is scarednof heights due to it \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 21:10
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ According to Jeremy Crawford (Lead rules designer for 5E): "Falling isn't considered a weapon by the rules." (twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/857271446892036096). Werewolves can die from falls. \$\endgroup\$
    – mbocek
    Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 21:25
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, falling isn't an attack, so it will bypass the new (post errata) resistance/immunity too. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 22:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Deceptecium And for the record, fall damage doesn't bypass all resistances, just most. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 23:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Just everything but not a demon lord got it \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2019 at 23:26

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .