-4
\$\begingroup\$

So with spell sniper could it make say burning hands not self cast or anything other self cast spell not have to be self cast?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by V2Blast, Sdjz, YogoZuno, Jason_c_o, Ruse Jan 30 at 3:28

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure what you're asking here. Spell Sniper tells you what it does. Are you asking if Spell Sniper changes the range of a spell with a regular range of "Self"? (If so, what do you think it would be changing the range to?) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 30 at 3:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ My bad it not attack roll spell \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Parker Jan 30 at 3:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the attack roll portion clears it up, you could probably press the check mark next to Darth Pseudonym's answer to mark that it is the correct one. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Jan 30 at 3:28
5
\$\begingroup\$

No, feats are very clear and specific about what they do. Spell Sniper increases the range of spells that have attack rolls, and allows ranged spells to ignore cover. Most "self" spells don't have an attack roll anyway (such as burning hands, which makes the targets roll saves instead), but spells with a range of touch or self are not altered even if they do have attack rolls, because "touch" and "self" are not numbers that can be doubled.

There are effects in the game that do allow you to use some of those spells at range, such as the Sorcerer's "Distant Spell" metamagic, but they will say exactly how they work.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.