Say a player character attempts to move away from a creature, provoking an opportunity attack. The creature has an attack that will grapple an opponent if they are hit (e.g. Vampire Spawn's claw attack).
The rules state:
You can make an Opportunity Attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.
If the player character is hit by the opportunity attack, are they grappled?
If they are, how far away are they from the Creature?
Or, is it the case that the creature couldn't grapple the PC at all as part of the opportunity attack?
Intuitively I would say that if you're grappled then you're dragged back to within 5ft of the creature, but since the opportunity attack happens when you leave their reach (see quoted text) does it really make sense for them to be able to grapple?
Should the text read "when a hostile creature attempts to move out of your reach"?
Interpreting the rules as written, what happens here, and where does it leave the PC at the end of their movement?