7
\$\begingroup\$

If I am falling a great height and manage to cast meld into stone before hitting the ground (which happens to be stone, such as a cavern floor), would I suffer falling damage?

Consider the fall to be a great enough height that I can take an action during the fall. I was thinking that I could simply cast it during the fall and the spell would take effect upon impact.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour, and check out the help center for more guidance. What RPG and edition are you asking about? If it's D&D 5e, edit the [dnd-5e] tag into your post. Also, how are you casting meld into stone before you hit the ground (i.e. how are you timing it)? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 2 at 1:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ currently playing 5e. should that matter tho? \$\endgroup\$ – Billy Dello Russo Feb 2 at 13:02
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! Yes, it matters very much. Different games have different rules about how falling works and is timed, as well as different rules about how spells and actions are timed. I edited that information into the question, as well as your comments about how you see the timing working, so the hold could be lifted. Thanks again for clarifying! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Feb 2 at 16:26
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ well.. after further investigation and speaking to additional folks about this. Turns out it cant be done. The spell specifically calls for stepping into the stone. Falling isnt stepping and I doubt any DM would allow someone to try. Thanks everyone! \$\endgroup\$ – Billy Dello Russo Feb 3 at 4:37
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @BillyDelloRusso hey, that's great you got answer from your other folks. It will be great if you could turn that into an answer! Self answer is definitely permitted! Just state the answer and why you are convinced it"s correct! \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Feb 3 at 14:43
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, it won't save you

From the Meld Into Stone spell description:

You step into a stone object or surface large enough to fully contain your body, melding yourself and all the equipment you carry with the stone for the duration. Using your movement, you step into the stone at a point you can touch.

Falling isn't stepping, so I wouldn't say it's an appropriate interpretation of the description of the spell.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.