8
\$\begingroup\$

If a character in Pathfinder falls could they break their fall by flying, or would they fall to their potential death?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ If that fails, try attacking the ground and missing. \$\endgroup\$ – John Montgomery Feb 5 at 0:10
10
\$\begingroup\$

From the Fly skill:

If you are falling and have the ability to fly, you can make a DC 10 Fly check to negate the damage. You cannot make this check if you are falling due to a failed Fly check or a collision. See Falling Damage if you fail this check.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ So the flight-capable creature still hits the ground if it's, like, walking along and falls into a pit, yet success on the Fly skill check means that the creature manages to slow its descent to such a degree that the landing's painless? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 4 at 20:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Given that you fall down 500 feet in the first round, you probably only have a second or two to react. Enough to cushion the fall, but not enough to actually start flying if you were walking before. More of a special save than an action. \$\endgroup\$ – Draco-S Feb 6 at 9:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Based on the phrasing "negate the damage" not "fly instead" (or something better but equally different), you do still land and you're on your feet because no damage was taken. A GM can and frequently probably should rule differently if that interpretation doesn't make sense (IE your winged Aasimar fell into an endless pit... you could probably 'catch' yourself before falling 500ft.) \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Feb 6 at 15:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.