13
\$\begingroup\$

Do the benefits of oil of sharpness stack with those of +1/2/3 magic ammunition?

I'm really just curious whether these also stack as +X ammo does with a +3 bow, or if there's a point at which things stop stacking.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. I've edited your question to try to clarify what you're asking; please check to make sure I've accurately summarized the issue. Good first question! \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Feb 7 '19 at 4:34
16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, all 3 bonuses stack

According to the official rulings in the Sage Advice Compendium - page 18:

In general, bonuses stack, unless they’re from the same spell

Also, in the DMG - page 252:

When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them — the most potent one — apply while the durations of the effects overlap. [...] Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items.

These are items but they do not have the same name so this rule does not apply.

There is no specific rule on the oil of sharpness or Weapon +3 or Ammunition +3 that would override this, so the bonuses do stack.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The exact wording is "the coated item is magical and has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls" - but isn't +3 ammunition already magical and already has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls? Addressing this would greatly increase the reliability of this answer. Imagine a spell that says "For 1 hour, the target has 2 arms" and claiming that if cast on a normal person it would give them a total of 4 arms. That doesn't seem quite right to me! \$\endgroup\$ Jun 23 '20 at 1:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @gszavae Merriam-Webster defines "bonus" as "something in addition to what is expected". Using your example, if a spell says "the target has 2 bonus arms", it would be equivalent to saying "the target has 2 additional arms". So yes, on a two armed person we would certainly expect the spell to result in four arms. \$\endgroup\$
    – Andrendire
    Oct 26 '20 at 18:08
4
\$\begingroup\$

The bonuses do not stack.

Oil of Sharpness states:

the coated item is magical and has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls.

If I coat a piece of ammunition in the oil, it has a +3 bonus. The oil does not add a +3 bonus.

If I coat ammunition +3 in the oil, then claim the ammunition has a +6 bonus, my claim contradicts the rules for Oil of Sharpness, which state my ammunition has a +3 bonus.

Here's how it would play out if I was DMing:

Player: I coat my +3 arrow in oil of sharpness, now it has a +6 bonus.

DM: Let me check that, what does oil of sharpness say?

Player: "the coated item is magical and has a +3 bonus"

DM: Then we'll go with what it says, it "has a +3 bonus".

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ Citing an additional source, like youtube.com/watch?v=AaSdPL_pSgE , would improve this answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – ValhallaGH
    Jun 22 '20 at 11:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you point me to where in the video the relevant information is? Its an hour long. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 22 '20 at 11:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ That videpay provide some direction that JC may have meant when it was recorded, but it's not an official source of rules information. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Jun 22 '20 at 12:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Let us continue this discussion in chat. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Jun 22 '20 at 12:30
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Agreed, even if the effects can stack, I'm not seeing any reason why it would. I don't see a way for "has a +3 bonus" to be interpreted as "increases the bonus by +3". \$\endgroup\$ Jun 23 '20 at 1:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.