5
\$\begingroup\$

The teleportation circle spell description states that:

You draw a 10-foot-diameter circle on the ground that links your location to a permanent teleportation circle whose sigil sequence you know and that is on the same plane of existence. A portal opens in the circle and remains open until the end of your next turn. Any creature that enters the portal instantly appears within 5 feet of the destination or in the nearest unoccupied space.

If the creature casting the spell and a creature next to the permanent teleportation circle are in constant communication with each other (sending stones for example), would the creature at the permanent teleportation circle be able to ride the portal backwards to the caster's location?

If not, besides gate, are there any other means of accomplishing something like this on the same plane of existence?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The quote in your post doesn't match the official spell description. Please check the actual spell description and see if that clears up your confusion. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 9 at 3:42
3
\$\begingroup\$

Where did you get that spell description?

https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/teleportation-circle

As you cast the spell, you draw a 10-foot-diameter circle on the ground inscribed with sigils that link your location to a permanent teleportation circle of your choice whose sigil sequence you know and that is on the same plane of existence as you. A shimmering portal opens within the circle you drew and remains open until the end of your next turn.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, I checked again and the current language of the spell does specify which circle has the portal. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Feb 9 at 1:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ It appears that the Teleportation Circle description they used was one from a fan-made wiki (it's not dandwiki). I don't know if it's an infringing site, so I shouldn't link it here. Nevertheless, it's not an official source. \$\endgroup\$ – Axoren Feb 9 at 1:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Teleportation circle is part of the SRD, which isn't too heavily regulated. \$\endgroup\$ – Miles Bedinger Feb 9 at 1:38
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Axoren: It is indeed an infringing site; it includes non-SRD content as well. They intentionally reword things in a futile attempt to avoid getting taken down by WotC. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 9 at 3:44
1
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't. The circle is a one-way portal.

The portal opens at the circle you drew, and transports creatures to the other circle. It makes no provision for them to get back.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.