5
\$\begingroup\$

If a spell caster is inside a globe of invulnerability and they try casting a spell, can somebody outside of the globe use counterspell to block their attempt to cast that spell? I had though it would not be possible, but the globe of invulnerability only protects creatures and object while counterspell is arguably targeting the spell itself.

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

No, it can't

Counterspell "interrupt[s] a creature" - if that creature is within a Globe of Invulnerability then Counterspell "has no effect on them."

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah. My brain turned off for a minute there. Upcasting has no effect on the Globe, and counterspell is below the 5th level cutoff. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 12 '19 at 5:16
10
\$\begingroup\$

Nothing inside the globe can be affected by Counterspell even if you cast it at higher levels

Although your exact question has not been answered on Sage Advice, I believe the answer concerning how Dispel Magic applies to the Globe, applies just as well:

dispel magic could affect the barrier created by globe of invulnerability, but not anything inside the barrier

which aligns with the description of the Globe:

Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot

So you're better off trying to use Dispel Magic to get rid of the Globe first.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ What does "unless you go over 5th level" mean? \$\endgroup\$
    – kviiri
    Feb 12 '19 at 4:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @kviiri that was sloppy wording. fixed \$\endgroup\$
    – Valley Lad
    Feb 12 '19 at 4:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just a heads up: you don't need to put a full line (***) between your link sources and the body text. The links will not appear in the text regardless and all it does is make a weird line at the very bottom of your answer that serves no purpose. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rubiksmoose
    Feb 12 '19 at 11:50
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose Roger that. \$\endgroup\$
    – Valley Lad
    Feb 12 '19 at 15:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .