1
\$\begingroup\$

In the text for Reality Revision as follows:

Grant a creature a +1 inherent bonus to an ability score. Two to five reality revisions manifested in immediate succession can grant a creature a +2 to +5 inherent bonus to an ability score. Inherent bonuses are instantaneous, so they cannot be negated or dispelled. An inherent bonus cannot exceed +5 for a single ability score. Inherent bonuses to a particular ability score do not stack; only the best one applies.

"Immediate succession" implies a grouping of multiple uses of Reality Revision into an overall event/experience of raising an ability score by +2 to +5.

Does this group the manifestations into a single chain, and if it does, is the cost of a $25K crystal only needed to launch the first Reality Revision of the chain?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Each manifestation consumes a crystal

The answer is in the power's description:

Two to five reality revisions manifested in immediate succession

(...)

Manifesting reality revision requires channeling psionic power through specially-treated crystals similar to cognizance crystals that cost 25,000 gp. The crystal is consumed in the manifestation and becomes inert, unable to be used again and losing any value.

Each manifestation means you used the power once again (see Manifesting a Power in the psionic rules), similar to casting multiple spells in sucession, usually by spending one standard action per round (as per Bend Reality).

Psionic characters and creatures manifest powers. Whether they cost power points when manifest by a psionic character, or are manifested as psi-like abilities, powers’ effects remain the same.

The process of manifesting a power is akin to casting a spell, but with significant differences.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ So therefore does "Immediate succession" imply that if one Reality Revision is manifested to grant a +1 to an ability score, and then several months down the track another Reality Revision is manifested to grant a +1 to an ability score they do NOT stack? \$\endgroup\$ – niekell Feb 14 at 12:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is correct. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Feb 14 at 13:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe this is supposed to parallel the Inherent bonus available to some Arcane spellcasters through Wish so I'd expect the costs to be similar. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Feb 14 at 17:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.