16
\$\begingroup\$

I had an idea for a level 5 fighter with the Dual Wielder feat that used a melee weapon in the off-hand (whip) and used a thrown weapon (javelin) in the main hand.

My question is: With the main hand empty and a whip in the off hand, can my fighter draw a javelin, throw it, draw another, throw that one, and finish with an off hand attack with whip?

The main point being: Can you draw 2 weapons with the same hand using the Dual Wielder feat?

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot split the object interaction.

The third bullet point of Dual Wielder says:

You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

A character gets one free object interaction per turn. Dual Wielder allows the character to use it to draw two weapons - it does not give the character two object interactions.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It may be worth mentioning that a second object interaction requires the use of your action, and that extra attack allows multiple attacks per action, not multiple actions. So much confusion about that. \$\endgroup\$ – Miles Bedinger Feb 14 at 16:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thrown weapons are signifcantly inferior to bows, I do not know if it is an intentional design decision, or just an accident. \$\endgroup\$ – András Feb 15 at 10:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.