3
\$\begingroup\$

Let's suppose a player gets staggered just like being target of the staggering critical feat for 3 rounds. But then she is hasted by a party member.

The question is: could she make the extra haste attack other than her only available due to the staggered condition?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

William Porter's answer is largely correct, but incomplete.

Haste grants an additional attack only on Full Attacks, not on the Attack Action (which is a Standard Action).

The Staggered condition restricts you to either a Standard Action or Move Action on your turn, and since that makes Full-Round Actions impossible you cannot use the Full Attack Action to make a Full Attack.

However, if you have other ways of making a Full Attack without using the Full Attack Action, you can still benefit from Haste and use your additional attack.

For example, while Staggered, you are allowed to perform a Charge attack with only a Standard Action at a reduced movement. If you have the Pounce ability or something similar, you can still perform a Full Attack at the end of the Charge and then use the additional attack from the Haste spell.

Paizo released some FAQ regarding this:

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Haste has the following line:

When making a full attack action, a hasted creature may make one extra attack with one natural or manufactured weapon.

The staggered condition states:

A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions).

In the rules for Full Attack we see:

If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks.

Since Haste only grants it's extra attacks on a full attack which is a full round action, and the staggered condition prevents full round actions, they do not get to make the extra haste attack.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.