9
\$\begingroup\$

Can a creature have in operation at the same time both the 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell contingency [evoc] (Player's Handbook 213) and the 6th-level psion/wilder power psionic contingency [clairsentience] (Expanded Psionics Handbook 86) ?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

As written, Psionic contingency specifically says that only a second casting of another spell named 'Psionic contingency' dismisses the first casting, and vis versa for Normal contingency. Making no mention to it's counter part, or mentioning similar effects.

As such as neither would dispel one another, barring any Magic vs Psionic transparency your DM my apply.

The old official 3.X errata archives did not create any additional foot notes regarding the issue either.

While not a direct answer to your question, if you are looking to stack contingency effects may I direct you to the feat 'Craft Contingent Spell' (Complete Arcane, P.77 / P.139 & Unapproachable East, P.42 / P.46) which specifically lays out that a creature may bear a number of Contingented Spells equal it's HD. These effects are treated as unslotted magical items. Which on top of allowing one to use mutliply triggered effects, also allows them to stack with the spell (or psionic) version of contingency.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Take the tour! If suggesting contingency alternatives like the feat Craft Contingent Spell, then you may also want to recommend the 9th-level Sor/Wiz spell chain contingency [evoc] (Tome and Blood 86) that the DM can alter to bring in line with the 3.5 revision. Thank you for participating and have fun! \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 22 at 3:21
3
\$\begingroup\$

A strict reading of the text would suggest yes. Psionic contingency isn't one of the "as the X spell, except..." powers, it has an explicit description which says you can only have one instance of psionic contingency active at a time.

That said, if magic-psionics transparency is in use, I might well rule at my table that they conflict under a "same effect, different source" argument.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.