1
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

D&D 5e If it says that I have a +7 to Stealth, do I add my Dexterity bonus (which is 3) plus my proficiency x 2 (which is 2x2 = 4) because of being an expert to it, or, is the + 7 just the number I add to my D20 roll when I make a stealth check?

I have added my Dex plus my proficiency to it in my game (I am a PC) and rolled a 30 to stealth (16 on D20 and +14 for stealth) which seems way too high even for a rogue at low level.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener Feb 21 at 13:45

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also please include the level of your PC as well as any feats and other relevant features you may have. \$\endgroup\$ – lightcat Feb 21 at 4:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ It looks like he is playing 1 lvl Rogue with +3 Dex modifier. \$\endgroup\$ – Elmo Feb 21 at 5:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you playing with a pre generated character from the Starter Set (Lost Mines of Phandelver) or did you create this character yourself? You can find more detail on expertise and ability score rolls in the basic rules posted at WoTC's web site (free download). \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Feb 21 at 13:45