Is the light cantrip limited by distance?

Can you or another player cast light on an arrow/bolt, then shoot that at, say, a tree to cast light on an area a bit further away?


1 Answer 1


No, there's no limit to how far an object with light cast on it can be from the caster.

The description of the light cantrip says:

You touch one object that is no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. The light can be colored as you like. Completely covering the object with something opaque blocks the light. The spell ends if you cast it again or dismiss it as an action.

If you target an object held or worn by a hostile creature, that creature must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw to avoid the spell.

The light cantrip has a range of "Touch" and a duration of 1 hour. It does not have a range from you within which it works; the lit object simply stays lit until the spell ends.

If you cast light on an arrow and then shoot it, the light will not go out as soon as you let go of the arrow; once you cast the spell, the light remains on the object until the spell ends (whether you recast the spell, you simply dismiss it as an action, or an hour has passed). In your example, you could shoot the arrow anywhere you want, and the arrow would stay lit as long as it remained intact and the spell was active.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .