I was curious if there's a weight limit to feather fall in either spell or enchanted item.

From what I've read there isn't, but I'm not sure if it'd be up to the DM's discretion or if there is/was a limit like in earlier editions.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Feb 28, 2019 at 1:59

2 Answers 2


No, spells don't have limits unless they are stated

Feather fall's description is:

Choose up to five falling creatures within range. A falling creature’s rate of descent slows to 60 feet per round until the spell ends. If the creature lands before the spell ends, it takes no falling damage and can land on its feet, and the spell ends for that creature.

This spell does not say anything about a weight limit, so we can assume that there is none. If it is a creature, and is within 60 ft. of you, and you have the components, (and nothing is preventing you from doing this), you can cast feather fall on it regardless of its weight.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You can featherfall five falling terrasques if you like. No weight limits. \$\endgroup\$
    – user47897
    Commented Feb 27, 2019 at 22:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ How many meters per second is 60 feet per round? \$\endgroup\$
    – Mazura
    Commented Feb 27, 2019 at 23:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mazura a round is 6 seconds, so 60ft./6 seconds, so 10 ft./second, which in meters per second is about 3.04 meters / second. \$\endgroup\$
    – Juicetin
    Commented Feb 27, 2019 at 23:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ TIL feet/seconds it about the same as km/h. 10ft/second is about 11 km/h which is probably easier to visualise for most \$\endgroup\$
    – OganM
    Commented Feb 28, 2019 at 0:50
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A good thing for a druid who's currently a mammoth. \$\endgroup\$
    – Wyrmwood
    Commented Feb 28, 2019 at 20:34

Nope, it works all the time*

Feather fall has no limitations beyond the casting requirements for range (60'), material, and verbal components. As long as those are met, then it'll work.

*It won't work if they are in antimagic field, or if one of the requirements listed above isn't meant. Or if it's not a creature.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .