8
\$\begingroup\$

So I'm looking at the Artificer Revisited Unearthed Arcana (PDF direct link).

The 5th-level Arcane Armament feature says if you make an Attack action using a magic weapon, you can attack twice in that action. I'm interested in making an Artificer who is a wielder of wands primarily, but I'm wondering if this feature would not apply to wands.

If the artificer casts an attack cantrip from a wand, is that considered an "Attack action made with a magic weapon"?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

Nope

It depends on the wand, but usually, it is not an Attack action.

For instance, the Wand of Magic Missiles requires you to "use an action", not "take an Attack action":

This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the magic missile spell from it.

Even if the wand's spell requires you to "make a ranged spell attack" it still won't be an Attack action, which is a specific term in 5e. For more details, see: What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe add something about, although some spells will require a spell attack, that’s stil not an Attack action. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 1 at 15:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.