16
\$\begingroup\$

Context

The paladin in my game frequently uses his backhand to "correct" the ranger/assassin/warlock. The table enjoys these social interactions, as part of their bromance. It mostly happens out of combat, but we do still roll damage for the slaps. Since the paladin is not the smartest of the bunch this could potentially backfire if he hurts his ally too much (or at the wrong time), especially since the ranger is now vulnerable to radiant damage (due to homebrew events).

According to How much damage does a punch deal?, by default:

An unarmed strike deals 1 + Strength modifier damage.

Improved Divine Smite (IDS)

By 11th level, whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon, the creature takes an extra 1d8 radiant damage.

Confusion

I read somewhere that an unarmed strike counts as a simple melee weapon and therefore allows you to add proficiency bonus to attack rolls if the (N)PC is proficient in simple melee weapons. But unfortunately I can't find the source for that statement. If this is true, it implies the IDS would trigger when hitting with unarmed strikes.

Research, with sources:

Question

Both accepted answers suggest that the slapping hand itself would not count as a weapon, and would therefore not trigger IDS, as the back of a hand is not a melee weapon. Although these answers hint towards my conclusion, they don't give a clear yes or no to my question.

Does Improved Divine Smite trigger when a paladin makes an unarmed strike?

In other words, is my current conclusion correct? Or am I misinterpreting the wording of the paladin feature?

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

Improved Divine Smite will not trigger on an unarmed strike.

(luckily for the other PC)

Your conclusions are correct. As the rules state, an unarmed strike is not considered a weapon of any kind. According to the PHB rules on melee attacks (post-2016 errata):

Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). (PHB 195)

(That same errata also removed unarmed strikes from the weapons table in the PHB (p 149).)

Improved Divine Smite requires a weapon:

whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon

Since Improved Divine Smite requires a weapon, it will not work with unarmed strikes.

Note that normal Divine Smite also does not work with unarmed strikes.

Even though the normal Divine Smite is written differently in a slight but significant way, it likely technically also will not work with an unarmed strike. It says:

[...] when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon's damage.

Even though an unarmed strike is technically a melee weapon attack, the rule for Divine Smite also says that the damage is done by a weapon and an unarmed strike is not considered a weapon:

As the Sage Advice Compendium clarifies:

an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon.

Thus, RAW, unarmed strikes also do not work with Divine Smite. FWIW Jeremy Crawford unofficially agrees.

You always add your proficiency bonus to your unarmed strikes

The rules for melee attacks state:

On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength modifier. You are proficient with your unarmed strikes. (PHB 195)

This line was also added in the 2016 errata and may not appear in your printed PHB.

So, no matter what proficiencies you have you always add your proficiency bonus to an unarmed strike attack roll. This does not affect any of the rulings on (Improved) Divine Strike though.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron OK. I added a line about that as well. I don't think there is any need to cite it directly. The answer is already quote-heavy enough and it is easy to paraphrase. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 1 at 17:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ So... Improved Divine Smite would work with a thrown dagger, but Divine Smite would not? \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Mar 1 at 18:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @BenBarden Though you could probably ask that as an entirely new question, the answer should be that you are correct. A thrown melee weapon is still a melee weapon, but it is being used to make a ranged attack. So DS would not work (not a melee attack) but IDS would (bc it uses a melee weapon). Just one of those weird rules things that I doubt they gave much thought to. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 1 at 18:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just seemed like it would be an interesting aside to add. \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Mar 1 at 18:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Crawford has ruled that Divine Smite requires a weapon as well: "Unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks. And they don't work with Divine Smite, which requires a weapon." It's because Divine Smite says, "Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Mar 2 at 2:19
6
\$\begingroup\$

Divine Smite works with an unarmed strike but Improved Divine Smite doesn't.

Let's break down the reasons:

Divine Smite

As the author of the blog here writes:

What does this mean? Unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks but not weapons. There’s been a bit of confusion as to whether this mean stunning strike works with unarmed strikes – it certainly does, the strike is still a melee weapon attack! (Stunning Strike says “When you hit another creature with a melee weapon attack”. You use a melee weapon attack to make unarmed strikes, so it still applies. The same applies to Divine Smite – you may use that with an unarmed strike.

This is supported by the 2019 SA Compendium.

Improved Divine Smite

The wording of Improved Divine Smite states:

By 11th level, whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon, the creature takes an extra 1d8 radiant damage.

As we've already seen:

Unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks but not weapons.

Hence you won't get the 1d8 radiant damage on every unarmed strike.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Please note that your first quote is not anything from errata or official sources but it's just the person that owns that site's interpretation. It happens to be correct but there's really no reason to quote it here as opposed to writing your own take on it. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 1 at 16:51
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also welcome! Very nice first answer. I have made some edits to clean up the post and make it clearer. You can always edit your post to make it better. Hope to see you around! \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 1 at 16:56
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Another warm welcome to RPG.SE. Please take the tour and browse some of the other questions and answers about RPG's that you find of interest. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Mar 1 at 16:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ May want to also reference the errata that changed this. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Mar 1 at 17:14
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Crawford has ruled that Divine Smite requires a weapon as well: "Unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks. And they don't work with Divine Smite, which requires a weapon." It's because Divine Smite says, "Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage." I don't see anything in the Sage Advice Compendium that contradicts this. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Mar 2 at 2:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.