6
\$\begingroup\$

As you can manipulate water within a 5 ft cube and most medium sized creatures can fit in that size space, can I manipulate their blood? I'd figured you could move the blood just the same as water and move the blood out of a creatures wounds, effectively making them die from blood loss. As well as being able to freeze the blood.

Shape water states,

You freeze the water, provided that there are no creatures in it.

As the blood is in the creature not the other way around, I figured it would work. But I wanted some other opinions to make sure my idea was plausible.

Can you could use Shape Water in such a way?

\$\endgroup\$
27
\$\begingroup\$

No, this will not work RAW*

It's not water

Shape Water specifically states it only works with water (emphasis mine):

You choose an area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube.

Had they wanted it to work with any other liquid, it wouldn't have used the term "water". Things that contain water are not the same thing, this is just about shaping water.

And you can't see it

In addition, there is the sight requirement. Blood in the body is not generally visible. Blood outside the body, but even if you allowed shaping that, it won't generally cause much harm (the harm's already been done). But that's also up to the DM as to what injuries are visible.

Either way, blood isn't water (isn't it thicker?) and you can't see it so shape water won't be able to be used with blood.

*There also aren't any rules regarding Creative Use of Spells, but it's very much going to be up to your DM if they do want to allow this. But I doubt a DM would be willing to give a cantrip the power level this might be.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Wouldn't that mean that the spell works on the water in the blood, leaving behind the non-water bits of blood? \$\endgroup\$ – vicky_molokh Mar 6 at 16:03
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @vicky_molokh: You're overthinking it. Or, rather, thinking too scientifically. A laudable talent in the real world, but not for a game with specific set of rules. As far as spells go (and all the rules, really), they need to be taken "as is", otherwise you risk rather a lot of rules-abuse! So here: water=water, blood=blood, water≠blood. \$\endgroup\$ – PJRZ Mar 6 at 16:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch Nice revision, +1 already in the box. (chortle) \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Mar 6 at 16:18
6
\$\begingroup\$

The spell specifically refers to water and does not mention any other liquid. Blood is mostly water, yes, but blood is not water. With that sort of leeway (particularly on a cantrip) you could end up with some truly terrifying power. This would enable you to manipulate most living things in the environment. I do not think that this is what is intended with this spell.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.