4
\$\begingroup\$

The Players Handbook says:

When your character needs to do a non-easy thing in the game or the GM asks you to do a thing, you’ll roll a number of dice equal to your NODE plus the Computer Dice. You always roll the Computer Dice. Even if your NODE is zero or less, you still roll the Computer Dice.

Each rolled dice that shows a 5 or 6 is a ‘success’ and adds one point to your final total. (p 24)

On the Computer Dice, the 6 is replaced with a computer symbol and has a special meaning for the DM. But for the player, does rolling it count as a success?

I do understand that I can rule either way as GM, and that I can choose to be inconsistent about it and punish the traitors who question it. I'm just curious if there is a clear answer or clarification somewhere that I am missing.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

According to the Gamemaster's Despotic Power Book included in the Acute Paranoia box:

Is the Computer Symbol on the Computer Dice a success or a failure?

It counts as a success. If you rolled 5 dice and got 2, 2, 4, 5, and the Computer Symbol, then you have 2 successes. Facing Friend Computer's sudden and searing attention is bad enough; give the poor sod a success. (p 170)

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .