8
\$\begingroup\$

I have crafted a Barbarian bugbear that uses a halberd weapon, and will take Polearm Mastery as a feat.

Bugbears have the Long-Limbed trait:

When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.

The description of the Reach weapon property says:

This weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for opportunity attacks with it.

The second benefit of the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) says:

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.

Making a standard melee attack is pretty straight-forward. He can attack anyone in 15' (5' for normal, plus 5' for bugbear, then add 5' for reach).

At what distance can he attack someone coming towards him?

So my reach is generally 15'. But per the bugbear description, that extra 5' is only when I make an attack on your turn. So his effective reach is only 10'.

Per Polearm Master, I can take an Opportunity Attack when they enter my reach; which is normally 15'. But I only get that extra 5' on my turn, and since this is another creature using it's movement, it's not the character's turn.

So can he attack when someone is 15' feet away, or does he have to wait until they are within 10'?

P.S. There is a sister question about Polearm Mastery and leaving my threat range.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ You know it's the Bugbear's turn when his arms get 5 feet longer all of a sudden \$\endgroup\$ – user47897 Mar 11 at 19:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ It seems like the answer is already laid out in the question. What is the confusion here? \$\endgroup\$ – Destruktor Oct 1 at 22:23
14
\$\begingroup\$

Long-limbed increases your reach on your turn. Thus, on your turn, your reach is 15. On anyone else's turn, your reach is 10. Polearm Mastery's triggered OAs follow suit - 15 on your turn, 10 on everyone else's.

It is possible to get OAs on your own turn, though relatively rare. In your case, if this happens, it will most likely be because you're fighting an enemy who can use their reaction to move on your turn.

\$\endgroup\$
-4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, as far as the rules go you have 15 reach your turn and 10 on anyone else's. BUT as a GM/DM i would veto that and make it a 15 on all attacks

\$\endgroup\$

We're looking for long answers that provide some explanation and context. Don't just give a one-line answer; explain why your answer is right, ideally with citations. Answers that don't include explanations may be removed.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I would talk to your GM about maybe negotiating the reach \$\endgroup\$ – user59374 Oct 1 at 17:15
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Can you support your answer by citing evidence from the rules? Also, regarding your suggested ruling: have you ruled this way in your own games, or seen it ruled this way? How has it worked, in your experience? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 2 at 5:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.