Water weirds (MM, p. 299) have the Water Bound trait:

The water weird dies if it leaves the water to which it is bound or if that water is destroyed.

If a water weird is fewer than 10 feet from the edge of its pool—which it would be if it were trying to Constrict and grapple characters who are on solid ground—can a druid cast thorn whip to pull it from its pool, killing it instantly? I believe the druid can, but am I missing something?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Relevant meta: Stance on using D&D Beyond for references?. Ideally, you might want to edit the page number from the book, and the relevant quote from the statblock, to explain your logic - that way it's accessible regardless of format (book or digital) and the relevant information is retained even if the original is changed/moved. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Mar 14 '19 at 18:01


The rules do not indicate that the thorn whip spell uses a grapple (which the weird would be immune to). The water weird has no immunity to the effect of thorn whip. Very clever use of a spell to defeat a creature.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Having used thorn whip as a player to one-shot more than one enemy, I can attest that it is occasionally incredibly game breaking. As a DM I'd narrate this as a bizarre spell interaction (the thorn whip 'drinking up' the weird and leaving an unexpected mass of thorny vines, probably), rather than some form of odd grapple-but-not-a-grapple dragging the weird out of the pool. \$\endgroup\$
    – Joe Bloggs
    Mar 14 '19 at 9:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @JoeBloggs Maybe the thorn whip spell solidifies / jellyfies the weird enough to make it grapplable? \$\endgroup\$ Mar 14 '19 at 14:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.