6
\$\begingroup\$

In order to qualify for certain item creation feats you have to have a certain caster level. For example:

Forge Ring [Item Creation]

Prerequisite:

Caster level 12th.

Benefit

You can create any ring whose prerequisites you meet. Crafting a ring takes one day for each 1,000 gp in its base price. To craft a ring, you must spend 1/25 of its base price in XP and use up raw materials costing one-half of its base price.

You can also mend a broken ring if it is one that you could make. Doing so costs half the XP, half the raw materials, and half the time it would take to forge that ring in the first place.

Some magic rings incur extra costs in material components or XP, as noted in their descriptions. You must pay such a cost to forge such a ring or to mend a broken one.

How does this work with multi class characters with caster levels from different sources?

For example a 12th level wizard would be able to take Forge Ring , but what about a wizard 9/sorcerer 3?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

There is nothing to indicate that item crafting is an exception to the common rules for determining caster level. So, in the absence of anything else to modify their caster level(s), a wizard 9/sorcerer 3 has caster level 9 for spells they cast (and items they craft) as a wizard and caster level 3 for spells they cast (and items they craft) as a sorcerer.

However, this also implies that the usual means for boosting caster level (Ioun stones, the Practiced Spellcaster feat, etc.) can apply as long as the source of CL boost doesn't specify that it only applies when casting a spell.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Caster level 12 means 12 levels in one spellcasting class.

While it's not quite directly stated in the chapter containing item creation feats, it's implied elsewhere in the rules that you must be caster level 12 in one spellcasting class to qualify as having caster level 12. "Caster level 12" should be understood to mean e.g. Wizard 12, or Cleric 12, etc.

Player's Handbook p.181, on spells, states:

Caster Level: A spell's power often depends on caster level, which is defined as the caster's class level for the purposes of casting a particular spell.

And, on page 59, under Multiclass Characters:

"Class level" is the character's level in a particular class. For a character whose levels are all in the same class, character level and class level are the same.

There's also no rule which allows caster levels from multiple classes to stack in general. In fact, the Unearthed Arcana Magic Rating system is a variant designed to allow that and make multiclass spellcasters a little more viable.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ To make it clear, are you saying Practiced Spellcaster and similar won't help? \$\endgroup\$ – annoying imp Mar 19 at 20:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.