3
\$\begingroup\$

I do not see the description of the silence spell in the PHB, though it is listed as a 2nd-level cleric spell. What am I missing here?

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I actually had trouble finding it on my first read through too. Don't feel bad about missing it :) \$\endgroup\$ Mar 18, 2019 at 20:28
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I've missed spells so many times for the same reason, that I now explicitly look for them at the bottom right of pages. It seems like something that WotC's editors could have tweaked. \$\endgroup\$
    – Red Orca
    Mar 18, 2019 at 21:28
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ There has to be a joke in here somewhere, about being unable to find the words to cast silence. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 19, 2019 at 3:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I figured that if someone had a hard time finding it, then likely that header and description were not together. Poor formatting.. \$\endgroup\$
    – Verdan
    Mar 19, 2019 at 18:04

1 Answer 1

13
\$\begingroup\$

Silence can be found at the bottom of page 275 of the PHB. Most of description is on page 276.

For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. Any creature or object entirely inside the sphere is immune to thunder damage, and creatures are deafened while entirely inside it. Casting a spell that includes a verbal component is impossible there.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good first answer! To save OP the trouble, you may also want to quote the relevant text, as the silence spell is in the SRD anyway: dndbeyond.com/spells/silence \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Mar 18, 2019 at 23:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Nautarch FYI, the PHB and the Basic Rules are not the same document; the page numbers do not match. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Mar 19, 2019 at 14:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @T.J.L. Yeah, I made an assumption on DNDbeyond saying "Basic Rules, 275" Clearly i shouldn't trust them :) \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Mar 19, 2019 at 14:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch Yeah, those references are strange. Generally, if it says Basic Rules and gives a page number, the page number is from the PHB or DMG. It's like the Basic Rules flag overrides the actual source flag in that display. They're both there for filtering/sorting purposes, but only the Basic Rules one shows. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Mar 19, 2019 at 14:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ @T.J.L.: I've seen the same thing happen with spells that are in both the EEPC and Xanathar's. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Mar 19, 2019 at 19:46

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .